top of page
Search

A note on grit.

So, what does grit look like for you? What are you specific dreams, goals and intentions in your journey? If you've asked yourself these questions already, good for you! If you haven't, maybe you should. If you forget, answer them again and see if they change. I would love to hear your thoughts on this post and on Angela Duckworth's TED Talk. perseverance for very long term goals. Grit is having stamina, sticking with your future, day in day out, not just for the week, not just for the month but for years and working really hard to make that future a reality. Grit is living life like it's a marathon, not a sprint." When I first heard this it resonated in the depths of my soul (same for many other people, that's why it's such a popular TED Talk ;-)).


Actors, we can easily apply grit to our journey. A huge ingredient in our pursuit is based on GRIT I think. Staying committed to our path, our goals even when times get rough, and times will get rough. I strongly believe the ones who stick with it, who hold on to their dreams until they become a reality are the ones who "make it" in this journey. They are the ones who later speak on how commitment, consistency, hard work and passion got them to where they are. I see way too many actors who quit acting because they have been beaten up from rejection and more rejection. Rejection is the nature of the business. It's hard to swallow the phrase "don't take rejection personal," but don't take it personal friends. If you do I think you'll be more reluctant to go to your next audition, lose your big Why?, lose your grit. If you need to slow down, slow down, but don't stop.


Another thing Angela Duckworth's TED Talk does for me is it encourages me to re-look my goals so I know what I am aiming for, so I can recharge my grit towards clear and specific dream/s. Yes, I want to be an actor, but in what kind of films? Who are the people I would like to work with? What is my dream TV, Film and Stage role? Where would I like to work? Your answers to these questions can get cloudy when we get hit with much rejection and feel like we are going nowhere.


So, what does grit look like for you? What are you specific dreams, goals and intentions in your journey? If you've asked yourself these questions already, good for you! If you haven't, maybe you should. If you forget, answer them again and see if they change. I would love to hear your thoughts on this post and on Angela Duckworth's TED Talk.


Grit on my friends~Stay blessed!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page