top of page
Search

A note on commitment.

I recently had a conversation with a dear friend of mine about this actors journey we're on. About how many of the iconic actresses and actors we love have been in the game for years and years-crafting the careers that we admire. Thus, we have no reason to question where we think we should be in our own careers; after all everyone before us has been where we are. If you're still grinding towards your goal- you are on the right track and just need to stay committed to the path you're on.


This conversation led me to the podcast That One Audition with Alyshia Ochse. Laurence Fishburne was her 100th episode guest. I would suggest listening to the episode. It is a treat. What I did not know about Mr. Laurence Fishburne is that he began acting in plays at age 10. His career has spanned four decades and counting. And he considers his career "peak" to be the title role in Othello, just years before the movies What's Love Got to Do with It and The Matrix.


There is one point in the conversation that had me sit back in my seat and go "Wow". Laurence says, "some people say it takes 10 years to make an actor, I say it takes 20 years to make an actor." Let that sit for a second. Next time you question whether or not your hard work is paying off, think about this quote and ask yourself, "have I put in the years yet" :-) Hearing this line and the entire podcast in general made me look at my trajectory since I stepped into acting and say, "I'm just getting started," Lol.


I share this because I think it's so so important to keep reminding ourselves that this journey (to success-whatever success means to you) takes an enormous amount of commitment (among other qualities). Staying committed to your own path and craft is success whether you see or not. An accumulation of years of work and experience lead to the moments where we feel like "we've made it". Get me? I know you've all heard the saying "it's all about the journey." It's true. If you stay committed to the journey you're on, to your goals and intentions as an actor, the roles, projects, etc. you're aiming for will present themselves to you.


That's my note for the week!


Stay blessed!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page